h1

Sigma 10-20mm EF-S Lens

May 24, 2013

This past weekend I was hired to shoot an interview and photograph an interior so an architectural firm. Since I imagined a great big expansive setting I wanted to get a really wide angle lens but not an 8mm fisheye which would give a distorted view. After pursuing the selection on LensRental.com (yes, I mention them quite often; no they don’t pay me a dime or give me any freebies) and reading a few reviews I decided on the Sigma 10-20MM f/3.5 lens. I was not disappointed…I received the lens late on Friday (no thanks to FedEx which had me expecting it early) and took it for a test drive on Saturday and Sunday. Though both days were fairly cloudy I just happened to be taking one of my children to a park in Upper Marboro, MD and the wide angle proved a wonderful addition to my camera bag. Being in the middle of a forest I wasn’t able to create long range landscape photos but I was able to use the wider lens to create different shots than I am normally able to take. Here are a few of the shots I took.

The shots of the ship and anchor would have looked much more cropped if I were using my 17-50 Tamron lens. Even with the 1.6x crop factor of my Canon 60D the 10-20mm lens will cover 16-32mm which is better than the 27.5 to 80mm that the Tamron covers. The Sigma was great at capturing detail and stayed sharp though I added extra sharpening in post in Lightroom.

Currently selling for $599 (a $50 rebate is available through June 30th 2013) for the f/3.5 version or $429 (same rebate would apply) for the f/4-5.6 version the lens appears to be a good bargain. Within that same focal range are the Tamron 10-24 f/3.5-4.5 for $500, the Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5 for $759 and a Tonika 11-16 f/2.8 for $569. (Price as of May 2013 from Adorama.com and BNH.com). When time and permit I will rent the other lenses and compare them to the Sigma. The most intriguing one to me is the wide aperture of the Tonika though when you mostly use wide angle lenses for landscape shots such a wide aperture is less needed than when you are shooting indoors or in poorly lit areas.

All in all I had a great experience with the Sigma and hope to use it again.

Leave a Reply

