h1

Audio Engineering

August 7, 2013

It’s been a long time since I spoken on any Audio Engineering or consultation that I have done since my installation in a church in West Virginia but Audio is still a good part of my daily life especially when shooting with a DSLR. Audio is still considered to be as important if not more important than video.With that in mind I have been looking at upgrading my daily audio gear from a Zoom H1 to something a little more robust. After I narrowed my choices by price and features I ended up comparing the Zoom H4n and the Tascam DR-40.

It just so happens that there is a YouTube video created by DSLRFilmNoob at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmwuS9QOlvs
In watching the video I am struck by how more clean and full the Tascam sounds compared to the Zoom and yet the reviewer says they sound the same. I noticed the same audio difference in different video review done by Indie Mogul but that reviewer also said the two devices sounded just about the same.
The Tascam is cheaper, has less features and appears to be a less sturdy device BUT it will most likely be the one I choose. The XLR inputs are a big set up from the 1/8 only input on the Zoom H1 and the ability to record multiple tracks will be crucial for interviews. What I hope is that long term I don’t regret *NOT* getting the H4n.

Once I get it I’ll do a few recordings and post them.

Leave a Reply

